Plus the alternative to blocking them
What happens when you block someone on Snapchat? Does blocking someone delete your chat history with them? Do you remain friends with them if you decide to unblock them later? Blocking someone on Snapchat prevents them from seeing your Story, Charms, and more.
There are many reasons to block someone on social media, including Snapchat. Whether they spam you with unwanted content or they’re just someone you don’t want to see, blocking them removes all traces from your account.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat
Once you block someone on Snapchat, here are a few things that happen.
Chat History Disappears
Your entire chat history will disappear from your phone. The blocked user can still access your old saved messages from their chat screen. They can open the chat page and send you a message, but you won’t receive it. The blocked user will see the messages on their screen appear as Unread. This is similar to how the blocking function works on WhatsApp.
If you decide to unblock the person later, you still won’t receive the messages they sent you while they were blocked.
You Won’t Receive Snaps or Videos From the Blocked Contact
The blocked user can try and send you snaps using the Chat menu, but, similarly to regular messages, you won’t receive them. Blocked contacts can still view unopened snaps that you sent them on Snapchat.
Blocking someone doesn’t unsend the snaps, so don’t use this measure to undo an accidentally sent snap, as it won’t work. However, once the snap expires (in 24h), they will no longer be able to see it.
You Won’t Get Screenshot Notifications
Unfortunately, you won’t get notified if the blocked person takes a screenshot of your chat. The notification will still appear on their side, but you won’t be able to see it as the chat will be removed from your device.
Even if you unblock this person and send them a friend request again, you won’t see if they took screenshots of your conversations.
The Blocked Person Can’t View Your Stories
When you block someone, they won’t be able to see your stories anymore. If you choose to unfriend them instead by selecting Remove friend in your friends list, they will still be able to see your public stories but not your private stories.
The Person You Blocked Won’t Find Your Snapchat Account
On Snapchat, you can search for anyone using the Search bar in the top left corner of the app. Blocking people on Snapchat prevents them from finding you on this social media platform.
If they try to search for your username, it will look as though your account doesn’t exist to them.
Blocking Someone Removes Them from Your Friends List
When you block a person, Snapchat automatically removes them from your friends list. If you decide to undo it, you’ll need to unblock them and then send a friend request again, as they won’t be able to do it themselves.
Do They Get Notified When You Block Them?
The other person doesn’t get notified when you block them on Snapchat. There’s also no sure way for them to find out that you blocked them. Snapchat designed this feature to protect the blocker by not letting the blocked person know they have been blocked.
Can You Unblock Someone You Previously Blocked?
You can easily unblock the person you previously blocked. You’ll then need to send them a friend request. The person will receive a notification about the friend request and need to accept it. Then you’ll be able to resume communication in chats, and they’ll see your activity on the app.
Can You Block Someone Not in Your Friends List?
You can block a person even if they aren’t on your friends list. To do that, you’ll need to change your privacy settings and allow Everyone to contact you. The instructions to do that are the same for iOS and Android. You can do that in a few simple steps:
- Open Snapchat on your device.
- Select your profile icon—the bitmoji avatar in the top left corner.
- In the top right corner, select the gear icon to open Settings.
- Scroll down and select Contact Me. You’ll have three options: Friends, Friends and Contacts, and Everyone.
- Select Everyone.
Now you’ll be able to block any person that bothers you, even if they aren’t in your friends list.
Alternatives to Blocking Someone on Snapchat
Not sure if you want to take such a drastic measure as blocking someone? You can opt for one of the alternatives, like using the DND (Do Not Disturb) mode, the option to remove friends, or changing your privacy settings to limit your Snapchat circle.
Anya is a freelance technology writer. Originally from Russia, she is currently a full-time Remote Worker and Digital Nomad. With a background in Journalism, Language Studies, and Technical Translation, Anya couldn't imagine her life and work without using modern technology on a daily basis. Always looking out for new ways to make her life and location-independent lifestyle easier, she hopes to share her experiences as a tech- and internet-addict through her writing. Read Anya's Full Bio